Ancestral Images that may help

For my First Cousins and their children and my children and grandchildren

It’s painfully evident that until the names and dates and places are seen ‘in context’ of where YOU fit in, genealogy isn’t much fun or very interesting.  I’ve said it before, this whole effort has made not only history come alive for me, but has given me a FAMILY HISTORY that I didn’t even know existed.  So, this post is an attempt to help you find your place in the story of us. I hope it helps.

This image was created in ancestry.com and it saved me a LOT of time and effort during the discovery process.  With one click, I was able to see (and understand) exactly what the direct line looks like with any ancestor in my tree. It gave me a warm fuzzy the first time I saw it in print (not just floating around in my head); see if it gives you the same warm fuzzy.

Direct Line Image


The image below is called a “Wordle” and it’s composed using wordle.net software.  Technically, it’s a word cloud comprised of all the first and last names of the people in our direct line. I think it’s awesome! Helps me capture all of it at once in a big picture. The more times a word (in this case, a name) is used, the larger it is in the depiction. The smaller a word appears, the less often it’s used. While it doesn’t really clear anything up, I thought it was a great graphic.

wordle


4054

I’m still working on an easy way to present the family ‘pedigree’ chart.  Right now, it’s in parts and pieces and also printed on a 10′ x 5′ chart!.

With that said, I’ll give you a sample below for the first few generations to see if that’s helpful.  Leave a comment below if you’d like to help me figger this out.

 


The following are screen capture images from ancestry.com.  It’s called a “Pedigree Chart” (sorry if I’m preaching to those who already know that.).

HolmesGrover

The first one, above, gets us through to Timothy C. Grover. If we follow the Grover line, it looks like this:

Grover Line

I think I’ll stop here for this posting. We have LOTS more to explore.

Finally, did you notice all those little green leaves stuck on those various names?  Their numbers eventually ballooned to over 1800 individual hints in ancestry.com and all were eventually resolved.  It’s those derned hints that keep people coming back!

2 thoughts on “Ancestral Images that may help

  1. Cindy Farach-Carson says:

    Sally, My mother was a Grover via Timothy C then Timothy W, and I have been doing our genealogy (I am DAR too) since 2007. This has led me to your blog. Would love to connect and see if we can help one another, include sharing photos. I am going to Terre Haute tomorrow to see the Grovers. I live in Texas.

    Like

Leave a comment